On being made redundant

Wow – how quickly things can change.

I’m left feeling a little bit silly at the moment because not 24 hours after I had been publicly singing the praises of my employer in my last post, I received a call from my manager to inform me that my position has been made redundant and they were letting me go…

Heavy.

I kind of expected to get this call at some stage while I was on leave – they laid off nearly all members of my team the week before I went on leave – so really, it came at no great surprise.  In my mind I had even been entertaining the idea of being served a redundancy package with a bit of enthusiasm, but when it actually happened I have to admit feeling a bit funny about it all and spent a few days in the dumps as a result.

With that said, having had a bit of time to get used to the idea and apply some logic to the situation I’m happy with how things have turned out.   I really wasn’t looking forward to returning there after my 12 months at home – I’d been quite unhappy in my job for a while now and felt as though I was wasting my life just trudging along for the sake of it.  I wasn’t in a good place.

To my (ex) employer’s credit, they agreed to pay me the remaining unused balance of the parental leave in addition to my accrued long service leave as part of the base severance package.   All-in-all, I’ll end up with substantially more than if I had have simply taken the leave and resigned of my own accord at the end of the 12 months.

So where to from here?   I’m not exactly sure.  In the short term, nothing really changes – I’m still needed here in the home to help look after our new daughter.   If I take a longer term view, then you could say that I’ve been given a fresh start.  A chance to explore other options, whether that be in the same field or something different entirely.  It’s all up to me.

Exciting times ahead!

10 thoughts on “On being made redundant

  1. livingsimplyfree

    My first reaction was shock and hoping you would be okay, but then I read on and began to see how well you are taking this. I wanted to wish you good luck finding exactly what it is you want to do when your leave is up. Good Luck.

    Reply
  2. Kathy

    It’s always a shock to be “rejected” even if it’s not you personally, the whole department is going it still hurts the ego whether you were happy there or not. It is still a shock because the decision was taken out of your hands however in saying that you have been compensated with some extra funds that if you had taken the path of resigning yourself (ie in your control) you wouldn’t have ended up with the extra money so even though we like to be in charge of our destiny it has an upside to it. It is good to look at it as you are from a “fresh start” and you can decide what to do now. Regards Kathy A, Brisbane, Australia

    Reply
  3. greeningofgavin

    Love your positive attitude Michael. I can totally relate to the down in the dumps feeling, but glad you bounced back well.

    It is indeed a new beginning mate!

    Reply
  4. Zena

    It’s not a very nice feeling when that happens – I know first hand – in a way it’s like being dumped. Sometimes when the decision is made for us, it’s not necessarily a bad thing and it may just push us towards a new path. Same kind of thing is happening this way too. It might happen to us (working dad), we don’t know, still waiting and I stress about the security. I’m glad you are feeling better about your situation. My mum is a peasant pensioner with no money in the bank but she has always said ‘not to worry, everyting will work out for the best.’

    Reply
  5. Karen

    I’m a great believer in ‘things happen for a reason’. So keep that up beat attitude and look forward to a new future. Here’s to the three of you 🙂

    Reply
  6. Miriam

    New beginnings are a wonderful thing. We’ve survived many changes and uncertain times and it only makes us stronger as a family. Best of luck to you 🙂

    Reply
  7. Melinda

    This happened in my household over nine years ago and we were ready for it and my husband always said he worked ‘hard’ to get his redundancy as his wasn’t voluntary and had to be ‘selected’. We have never looked back and although he was nearly 50 and I worked another few years we are enjoying our early retirement. We had our children young and had no debt and things had gone our way along the way with investments. But I also think the key to early retirement is to live simply and thus not require a big source income. We have now sold our house and will be living in a caravan for a period of time to see if that is the life we want. We are in a position to purchase a house again though not necessarily in a capitial city where we have spent our life time. I hope you find your new path when the time arises and I think what you are doing to live simply will be a big contribution to help with your requirements to live the simple life.
    Regards
    Melinda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

