Autumn Days

I’m just loving the colour in the backyard at the moment…  Autumn is just a wonderful time of year in Canberra.  The mornings are certainly fresh, but the days are just gorgeous, warming up to low-mid twenties and generally very sunny.   Thankfully so, because it has allowed me to really put in a great effort for getting the rest of the baby furniture painted.

Looking out onto the chook run

Looking out onto the chook run

The last few leaves clinging to the lilac bush

The last few leaves clinging to the lilac bush

Check out the colour on the strawberries as the plants come to terms with the colder weather

Check out the colour on the strawberries as the plants come to terms with the colder weather

On the productive front… I’ve been a bit neglectful.   I really wanted to get a lot more winter veg out, but I’ve mostly missed the boat on that one.   The broccoli that I managed to get in on time is flourishing though, and little heads have started to appear only this week.   I really must get that garlic in this weekend.

IMG_6705 IMG_6688

3 thoughts on “Autumn Days

  1. Kathy

    Stunning colours and that last photo is amazing too…..My 9 year old and I just planted our garlic last weekend and this is the first time we have planted it so it’s pretty exciting to plant something new to us. Last year we planted potatoes for the first time and it was a great achievement and filled with lots of excitement the kids (James 8 and Sienna 6 at the time) digging for the potatoes. We just planted them in tubs and they were the best potatoes we have eaten…that was a real buzz and the kids get so excited about eating things we grow too. We made a yummy loaf of bread which we use as toast in the mornings which you might like to try. I have a Thermomix but you don’t need that to make the bread just a mixmaster with a dough hook will do. Seriously this takes 5 mins to mix then pop it in the tin to rise for about 30 mins and then into the oven for 30 mins…once it’s cooled I slice it up and put it in the freezer and we take out the slices we need on the day. That with some homemade jam is a very healthy morning breakfast or you could put avocado on it. Check it out on http://www.oursimpleandmeaningfullife.blogspot.com about the 2nd or 3rd post…Regards Kathy A, Brisbane, Australia

    Reply
  2. Fiona

    Amazing photos. I miss all those lovely colours. Thanks for commenting over on my blog. I will be spending some time having a look arund you blog when I get some spare time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

