Supporting local producers

It’s early, about 6:30am on Saturday and I’m at the Farmers Market where all the producers are frantically setting up for the day.   We come here often to buy amazing fresh produce from local growers, but today I’m not here to buy, I’m here to sell.
IMG_0132 IMG_0135-2

I have a long-standing friendship with a local grower – Owen Pidgeon – from Loriendale Orchard.   My first “proper” 9-5 job after leaving school was as a website administrator for a government department, and it was there, eleven years ago, where I struck up conversation with Owen about his organic orchard.    I knew nothing about organic growing, or local food at the time, but now I realise, establishing real connections with food, and the people who grow it, is as about as important as it gets.

Today, being well into the harvest season, he’s reached out for some help to man the stall and I’m more than happy to assist.

IMG_0141 IMG_0172

I love telling people that everything is certified organic.  I love telling people that all these apples were grown only 15 minutes drive up the road.   I love the look of fascination on peoples faces when confronted by a dozen varieties of apples that they’d never heard of before.   This is real food, and I’m ‘real proud’ to be selling it.

IMG_0159-2 IMG_0157

I think we’ve tried to get far too clever with our food.  We desperately need to re-localise and change starts here, at this place.  It was a good morning too – a record sales day – at the markets.IMG_0173

2 thoughts on “Supporting local producers

  1. Linda

    Hi your soooo lucky we don’t have a great farmers market it seems they are not so local, we grow our own now and that’s fun we are learning a lot.you have a good blog I found you from Rhonda at down to earth my fav blog

    Linda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

