Planting out new life

Following all the rain on the weekend, we had a good day of sunshine on Monday, which saw the soil dry out just enough to give me a loam that was wonderfully light and easy to work with.   soilprep-gardenfork soilprep-corner

There’s something I enjoy (more than I’d expect) about forking over the soil to prepare for the planting of a new crop.  It’s work that builds up a sweat, but I like it.  It’s a moment where I anticipate harvesting the crop which I’m about to plant and nurture, to feed myself, my friends and my family.  It’s a time where despite any of the negative things going on, I hold optimism for the future, and while digging away I often imagine what the world would look like if everyone grew their own vegetables, and it’s a very fine place, indeed.

broccolioverhead broccoliseedling

3 thoughts on “Planting out new life

  1. Sandra

    I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, I LOVE your photos, they are beautiful 🙂

    I totally agree with your post, there’s nothing like getting the soil ready for planting and then seeing those first little seedlings pop up. It really would be a better world if everyone grew their own veggies and fruit, imagine all the green we would see 🙂

    Reply
  2. cityhippyfarmgirl

    It’s soothing isn’t it, digging in the dirt. I so rarely get to do it, (only pots here) sometimes there is a quiet plead from me to someone, anyone…can I please go dig in your garden.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

